Catholic Community Nambour District

Making Disciples .....

Parish and Community News

The Truth Justice and Healing Council
Posted by admin - 03/04/13 07:41PM - - 1/52/53/54/55/5


The Australian Catholic Bishops have set up a Truth Justice and Healing Council. It will oversee the Catholic Church's engagement with the Royal Commission into institutional responses to child sexual abuse. The Royal Commission commenced its proceedings in Melbourne today, 3rd April.

Archbishop Denis Hart and Sr Annette Cunliffe RSC also on the 3rd April, announced the members of the Truth Justice and Healing Council.

Members of the Truth Justice and Healing Council are:

Justice Barry O'Keefe AM QC, who will chair the Council.

Dr Sue Gordon AM, retired magistrate from Western Australia.

Archbishop Mark Coleridge of Brisbane.

Professor Maria Harries, Senior Research Fellow in the Social Work and Social Policy School at the University of Western Australia.

Mr Jack Heath, Chief Executive Officer of Sane Australia.

Associate Professor Rosemary Sheehan, currently working in Department of Social Work at Monash University.

Hon Greg Crafter AO, former Minister of Education, South Australia.

Sr Maree Marsh csb,  the former Congregational Leader of the Brigidine Sisters and is currently the Chair of ACRATH.

Bishop Bill Wright of Maitland-Newcastle.

Professor Greg Craven, lawyer and academic, Vice-Chancellor of Australian Catholic University (ACU).

Ms Elizabeth Proust AO, currently Chairman of the Bank of Melbourne.

Mr Stephen Elder, Executive Director of the Catholic Education Office Melbourne.

Dr Marian Sullivan, a Child and Adolescent Psychiatrist in Queensland. Full biographical details can be found on this link:

Truth Justice and Healing Council Members